Additional Notes

Custom mods, stories, and artwork based on the Evochron / Arvoch universe.
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

It can be done. And it works both in single-player and multiplayer. Here is a test script ... one you can copy and paste to a text file:


' ====================== CUSTOM QUEST TEST ===========

The custom scenario below starts by replacing the final
message in the default quest ... allowing the pilot to
start the custom quest from anywhere in the galaxy, as
long as he has first completed the default quest.


-26
Objective=2
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=0
3
For your first contract of the custom quest, dock
at the city on Atlas Minor (in the Atlas star system).
Read the message and then accept the I.M.G. contract.

-27
Objective=5
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=15
15
This test is similar to the original Quest. Its purpose
is to illustrate how to append the default Quest so that
any pilot who has completed the original Quest can then
go on to start any custom Quest.

The contract for this assignment will be indicated by the
following label above the contract description ...

**** I.M.G. Contract ****

It's a simple task, so don't try and make it more
difficult than it is. Simply meet up with the waiting
ship at the waypoint, turn on your HUD, fly into the
green docking box below the ship, match speed, then
deliver the cargo.

' ====================== END OF TEST ==================


Name the text file "questtext" and place it in your main Mercenary folder. It will override the game's "questtext.dat" file.

Keep in mind that you must first complete the original Quest. It's also a good idea to clone your pilot and use the clone to test your custom Quest ... because, once you've saved your profile, your current "Quest Progress" point is also saved. You can confirm your current Quest Progress ... it's listed among Pilot Statistics, in the left-hand corner of the page where you select and load your pilot profile.
User avatar
SeeJay
Captain
Captain
Posts: 3507
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Sweden

Additional Notes

Post by SeeJay »

This looks really great Marvin.;)

Got to try this in addition to my own quest project.:P

Thanks a lot, if this works it adds another dimension to my project.
\"Nothing is impossible, it only takes a bit longer!\"
\"We are not retreating, we are advancing in another direction!\"


http://evochron.junholt.se (Old)
http://www.evochron2.junholt.se (New)
http://mercenary.junholt.se (Map)
http://www.junholt.se/evoschool/index.htm (No spoilers)
-8- Bzzzzzzzzz! -8- -8-
Image
Maarschalk
Captain
Captain
Posts: 7645
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:24 am
Location: USA, Also check your six!

Additional Notes

Post by Maarschalk »

Very Nice, Thanks Marvin.....;):cool:
Arvoch Alliance Stat:

Image

Evochron Legends Stats:

Image

Evochron Mercenary Stats:

Image

Darkness is the absence of Light as Evil is the absence of Good
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

What this all means.

The dash ( - ) and the number that follows the dash specifies where in the quest the next message begins. The default quest ends with number 26 and, once you reach that point, you can no longer view the previous quest message.

Below that is information for where your pilot is to go and what he/she is to do next. You can require the pilot to complete any of the following objectives.

1 = requires the player to dock with a space station before the next message is displayed
2 = requires a planet city dock
3 = requires docking at a constructor station
4 = requires docking with a carrier
5 = requires completion of an IMG contract.

The ‘Location’ lines tell the pilot where to go to complete the next objective. They specify the sector coordinates (SX, SY, and SZ). Objectives that require docking can be in any sector with the proper facility; objectives that require completing a contract should be in the same sector as where the pilot has docked.

The code for each type of contract is listed below. If completing a contract isn't the required objective, just leave this value set to 0.

1 = Rebel contract to spy on a capital ship (Navy)
2 = Rebel contract to destroy capital ship (Navy) and escort
3 = Navy contract to patrol and destroy Rebels; multi-waypoint
4 = Guild contract to deliver goods to a capital ship (Guild)
5 = Navy contract to patrol and destroy Rebels
6 = Navy contract to destroy Guild ace and escort
7 = Guild contract to destroy a capital ship (Navy) and escort
8 = Navy contract to escort capital ship (Navy)
9 = Guild contract to deliver goods to a capital ship (Guild)
10 = Miner contract to destroy Guild ships
11 = Rebel contract to destroy a disabled capital ship (Navy) and escort
12 = Guild contract to destroy a capital ship (Navy); need not destroy escort
13 = Energy contract to clean a solar array
14 = Navy contract to recover an item (cargo, satellite or escape pod)*
15 = Energy contract to deliver goods to a capital ship (cargo or satellite)*
16 = Navy contract to locate a lost item
17 = Miner contract to clear an asteroid field
18 = A race against time
19 = A race against another pilot (Navy)
20 = Energy contract to mine 25 units of a specified item

* Satellite contracts originate at cities; escape pod contracts originate in war zones.

The next number in the file specifies the number of lines of text (your message) that will be displayed in the Chat window. Double spaced lines count as two. And each line of the message must be terminated with the “Enter� key. Be careful of the length of each line; you might want to experiment so that your message doesn’t extend beyond the Chat window.

When the player reaches the designated sector coordinates, the contract is generated automatically. Any required items and/or waypoints are, after the contract is accepted, also generated automatically.

How this all works.

The first mission in the custom quest starts at number 26, replacing the last mission in the default quest. It is a “docking� mission and, therefore, can be started anywhere … as long as the pilot has completed the original quest. If he/she has not completed the quest … well, it’s likely the final message will be overwritten. But that’s easy enough to remedy … simply take the custom “questtest� file out of the game folder until the default quest has been accomplished.

The trick in creating a working custom quest is to set the first mission number to whatever registers as the last mission number in the pilot’s profile, as seen here …

Image

Then use that number as the first number of your customized quest … making sure the first mission is for docking.

Before adding the test quest to your files, you can check the current state of the default quest by doing the following:

1. Open the Inventory Console (F3).
2. Select the “News Console� button.
3. Select the “View Last Quest Message� button.

If nothing is displayed in the Chat window, you’ve probably completed the default quest. Now copy the text in the first post … what’s between the two sets of hashed lines. Then save it as a text file titled “questtext� (without the quotes) and place it in your main game folder.

Note.

If you don’t want your quest contracts directed by “IMG� … you can change the “text.dat� file to reflect a different organization. The last time I looked, the line to modify was 1069 … but that could change with the next update to the game. Depending on the type of quest, you might want to use something more generic … maybe change it to something like: “Classified Contract Message� … or not.

[Edited on 5-16-2011 by Marvin]
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: Indeed it did, Eclipse. Thanks for spotting the error.
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

1. For mining and asteroid contracts, there is no error trapping routine to exclude sectors witout asteroids or planets. The program will allow a player to accept contract 17 but will crash during game loading if contract 20 is in a sector where it cannot be completed.

2. A mining contract can be scripted for a construct station but cannot be completed at the construct station (items cannot be sold there). But the contract can be completed if a trade station is in the same sector and the mined payload is taken to that station.

3. Quest contracts cannot be assigned to cities or carriers. The only thing available at a city or carrier, after docking, is a message.

4. Contracts not normally associated with either "Good" or "Hostile" areas of space can still be assigned to those areas as part of the quest. Good areas will be given contracts comparable to the difficulty of those in Hostile areas.

5. All capital ships are escorted except those waiting delivery of goods.

6. An unspecified number of enemy ships might attempt to intercept and destroy the pilot during implementation of contracts 13 thru 20.


Edit: Additional information added to an earlier post. See What This All Means, above.

[Edited on 5-16-2011 by Marvin]
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

6. An unspecified number of enemy ships might attempt to intercept and destroy the pilot during implementation of contracts 13 thru 20.
Is it possible to clarify this? Are you saying that if I were to set my custom quest to number 20 that it will allow the pilot to be attacked/persued by enemies warping in? If so then can I specify their faction and number of enemies? Based on what I've read here this is my idea so far:

1. Custom quest 20 begins: Go to city X to receive a message.

2. City x message: Youre being hired to smuggle. Go to station Y.

3. Station Y: You've been hired to move this contraband from here to there.

4. (While player is en route to there he is attacked by enemy fighters)

5. Player drops off delivery and the quest is complete.

[Edited on 7-24-2012 by EN4CER]
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

From post: 141371, Topic: tid=7011, author=EN4CER wrote:
6. An unspecified number of enemy ships might attempt to intercept and destroy the pilot during implementation of contracts 13 thru 20.
Is it possible to clarify this? Are you saying that if I were to set my custom quest to number 20 that it will allow the pilot to be attacked/persued by enemies warping in? If so then can I specify their faction and number of enemies?
The only method of specifying a faction is to select the applicable contract. See the link I posted ... scroll down to where it lists all the possible contracts, who offers them and who they're against.
Based on what I've read here this is my idea so far:

1. Custom quest 20 begins: Go to city X to receive a message.

2. City x message: Youre being hired to smuggle. Go to station Y.

3. Station Y: You've been hired to move this contraband from here to there.

4. (While player is en route to there he is attacked by enemy fighters)

5. Player drops off delivery and the quest is complete.
You can't script being attacked en route from one sector to another. You can script hauling contraband to a waiting capital ship (see the list mentioned above). If it's to either a Rebel of Guild ship, you'll find yourself being attacked ... mostly by Navy fighter pilots. If you do all this in a Moderate star system, you'll get a lot more flack from the Navy than if you do it in a Fair system. But (and this is rather chancy), if you script a Rebel or Guild delivery in a Good star system, you'll actually get even more Navy flack ... because the quest engine sets the number of attacking Navy the same as if it were a Hostile star system. (Cool, huh.)
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

Awesome Marvin, thanks! I'll see if I can't have this written up today. :)

Edit: Please add comment lines or # symbols to the comments between the QUEST TEST lines. It's hard to differentiate quest text, quest title, and comments within your example.

[Edited on 7-25-2012 by EN4CER]
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: If it doesn't run, post the first three parts here and I'll check it over. (There are a couple tricky parts to using the Quest script.)
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

Is it possible to create a named ship? If the Navy engages that's close enough to smokeys to stand as is. If I could get a wingman or a named ship called 'Snowman' it would absolutely complete the reference. Also what the difference between 4 and 9? Is one of those supposed to be rebel and the other guild but you mistyped? I want to deliver to a rebel capital ship instead of a guild one but I don't see that on the list. Here is my example. Please note if this is correct I'll be modifying the locations for a more dangerous area like you mentioned. Also did I do the contract title correctly or do I need to edit a file like you mentioned in your post?

So this custom quest would kick in after completing the final IMG contract. You get a message to dock at a city. Once you're at the city you get the contract to deliver goods.


-26
Objective=2
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=0
7
As you complete your latest contract your navigation
panel hums to life. Nav coordinates start to slowly
transfer in Morse Code to your terminal with no
apparent source or reason for the message.
(X=1000 Y=0 Z=1499)

-27
Objective=5
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=4
10

***A shady character approaches your docking bay.***

You've flown close enough to catch our eye Mercenary.
We have cargo of a 'sensitive nature' that needs to be
delivered to a wealthy but fugitive client. Dock at these
coordinates to pickup cargo disguised as typical
commodities on a routine trade route.

[Edited on 7-25-2012 by EN4CER]

[Edited on 7-25-2012 by EN4CER]
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

From post: 141509, Topic: tid=7011, author=EN4CER wrote:Is it possible to create a named ship? If the Navy engages that's close enough to smokeys to stand as is. If I could get a wingman or a named ship called 'Snowman' it would absolutely complete the reference.
You can include a name in the text but it won't show up anywhere on the HUD or target display. Most stations and carriers are already named ... you can use those names if you like. Note: it is possible to have your player build and name a trade station ... but there is no error-checking in the quest script to insure the player actually gives it the name you demand.
Also what the difference between 4 and 9? Is one of those supposed to be rebel and the other guild but you mistyped?
I checked all my notes and they all show those two contracts to be as indicated. But I could've made a mistake at the get-go. I suggest you script one of each and see if there is a difference. If so, let me know so I can edit the above post.
I want to deliver to a rebel capital ship instead of a guild one but I don't see that on the list.
Try testing both 4 and 9 ... probably, I got one of them wrong.
Here is my example. Please note if this is correct I'll be modifying the locations for a more dangerous area like you mentioned. Also did I do the contract title correctly or do I need to edit a file like you mentioned in your post?

So this custom quest would kick in after completing the final IMG contract. You get a message to dock at a city. Once you're at the city you get the contract to deliver goods.
Okay, let's go over your script.

-26
Objective=2
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=0
The coordinates should be the sector where you plan to have the player dock. Objective 2 designates a city and the contract number means the player won't be given a contract after docking. (Btw, IIRC, you can't assign a contract to cities ... they can only be used for text messages.)
7
As you complete your latest contract your navigation
panel hums to life. Nav coordinates start to slowly
transfer in Morse Code to your terminal with no
apparent source or reason for the message.
(X=1000 Y=0 Z=1499)
The "7" is the number of lines, of your text, plus one extra space above and below ... making it easier to tell quest messages from other chat.
-27
Objective=5
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=4
10
Objective 5 requires the player to complete an IMG contract. When running this scenario, I'd first test contract 4 and then contract 9 to see if there's any difference. But, as I noted above, you might not be able to script a contract from a city. Ergo, you might instead direct the player (after landing at the city) to head for the nearest trade station.

Now, here's where it gets tricky.

Notice that the coordinates are for where your pilot is to go next? But the text underneath is for right now? That's because the coordinates, objective and contract are one step ahead of the dialogue. Here's an example of how you can direct a player (who is docked at a trade station) to go to a city, where he/she gets a message to return to the trade station, where the player is then assigned a contract (or two), and finally you have the station reply without adding another contract.
-29
Objective=2
LocationX=-1260
LocationY=-2
LocationZ=-1872
Contract=0
7

Hello, Captain. Welcome. The station is manned and
almost fully operational. I'm part of the construction
crew and will be departing shortly. Hopefully, by the
time you get back from the planet, me and my guys will
be long gone. This is a rough neighborhood.

-30
Objective=1
LocationX=-1260
LocationY=-2
LocationZ=-1872
Contract=0
10

So, the Independent Mercenary Guild has found its way
into our star system. How interesting. And a brand new
trade station in orbit. Probably manned and doing
business already. IMG doesn't lose much time, does it?

Well, you can just go back up to that station and let
them know how we, down here, feel about IMG taking
business away from honest settlers.

-31
Objective=5
LocationX=-1260
LocationY=-2
LocationZ=-1872
Contract=20
12

Ahoy, Captain. Take my word for it: we're happier to
see you than those old mud-dwellers on the surface.
Especially since we could really use your help. Ships
are coming and going but just about all of them are
leaving empty-handed. We have almost nothing to trade.

So guess what? We need supplies, is what. Or even raw
materials. We're nearly out of everything, from oxygen
to diamonds. I hope you have a mining beam aboard that
ship of yours.

-32
Objective=5
LocationX=-1260
LocationY=-2
LocationZ=-1872
Contract=13
8

That should give us some breathing room, Captain. What
we need now is a little help with the power grid so we
can crank up our sub-space transmitters and talk to
Headquarters. A navy transport ship dropped off one
rather dirty solar array. It can be energized remotely
but that won't do us much good until it's cleaned.

-33
Objective=1
LocationX=-1260
LocationY=-2
LocationZ=-1872
Contract=0
3

C'mon back, Captain. We got power. Lots of it. Thanks.
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: The following changes should work ...

-26
Objective=2
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=0
7
As you complete your latest contract your navigation
panel hums to life. Nav coordinates start to slowly
transfer in Morse Code to your terminal with no
apparent source or reason for the message.
(X=1000 Y=0 Z=1499)

-27
Objective=1
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=0
11
As you come to rest on the landing pad above the
city and open your airlock, a shady character
approaches and says:

You've flown close enough to catch our eye Mercenary.
We have cargo of a 'sensitive nature' that needs to be
delivered to a wealthy but fugitive client. Dock at the
trade station to pickup cargo disguised as typical
commodities on a routine trade route.

-28
Objective=5
LocationX=1000
LocationY=0
LocationZ=1499
Contract=4
3

Here's your cargo, mister. Good luck delivering it.
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

Ok the last detail I am a bit confused by is the coordinate system. So my first block should have a planet city coordinate while the second and last black should each have different space station coordinates right?

-26
Planet coordinate

-27
Station where contract is offered coordinate

-28
Station/ship where delivery ends and contract is completed

Your example shows all similar coordinates though. Is that just because it's an example or is my above theory incorrect? EDIT: Sorry I know I'm asking a lot of questions.

[Edited on 7-26-2012 by EN4CER]
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: If the trade station is in the same sector as the planet (with a city), then the coordinates will be the same (they are, after all, sector coordinates). When that happens, its the "Objective" line which tells the program whether you're to dock (and receive a message) at the city or the station.
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

Derp. I completely understand now. Thank you so much for explaining this. You may want to sticky the thread ;)
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: Viper's Table of Contents is in my Favorites list. Eventually, it will need updating but, for now, it helps a lot.
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

Ok I believe this final draft is ready for testing. You would fly to Sierra to talk to get the transmission, go to Emerald to land planetside and talk to the smuggler, get and complete the mission in Aries. All three should be combat heavy hostile zones and require a lot of travel. By the time you're done with IMG this will probably be a cakewalk.

-26
Objective=2
LocationX=-2200
LocationY=0
LocationZ=-3500
Contract=0
7
As you complete your latest contract your navigation
panel hums to life. Nav coordinates start to slowly
transfer in Morse Code to your terminal with no
apparent source or reason for the message.
(X=1000 Y=0 Z=1499)

-27
Objective=1
LocationX=-3200
LocationY=0
LocationZ=-550
Contract=0
11
As you come to rest on the landing pad above the
city and open your airlock, a shady character
approaches and says:

You've flown close enough to catch our eye Mercenary.
We have cargo of a 'sensitive nature' that needs to be
delivered to a wealthy but fugitive client. Dock at the
trade station to pickup cargo disguised as typical
commodities on a routine trade route.

-28
Objective=5
LocationX=-3500
LocationY=0
LocationZ=-2000
Contract=4
5

Here's the contraband. There's a lot
of empty space full of Smokeys between
us and him. Good luck bandit.

[Edited on 7-27-2012 by EN4CER]

[Edited on 7-27-2012 by EN4CER]
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: Press on.
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: Additional info: You might want to append the following text ...
You've flown close enough to catch our eye Mercenary.
We have cargo of a 'sensitive nature' that needs to be
delivered to a wealthy but fugitive client. Dock at the
trade station to pickup cargo disguised as typical
commodities on a routine trade route.
... by adding the sector coordinates of the station, since it isn't in the same sector as the city.
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

Good idea. Thanks again Marvin! I'm going to do another quest line similar to yours where you do it to gain entry into the clan. I'll also make it a bit of a puzzle unlike this one where you will have to figure some things out on your own. Some of the deep space exploration objects are ripe for quests too. I think the less that the player base sees and knows something the more likely I am inclined to include it into the custom quest.

I'm probably going to dig through the online EM database and see what hidden objects I can find and start making their coordinates a part of the quest reward text.
Image
Major Grubert
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 10:24 am
Location: Paris, France.

Additional Notes

Post by Major Grubert »

Good topic guys :)

As I do have interest in quest making i do like your writings and ideas :)

Keep us informed please :)
Major Grubert
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 10:24 am
Location: Paris, France.

Additional Notes

Post by Major Grubert »

From post: 141778, Topic: tid=7011, author=EN4CER wrote:see what hidden objects I can find and start making their coordinates a part of the quest reward text.
good idea mate

I had idea of quest containing "artifact" concept

maybe i could use this method to.. As i explore a lot around and between gated systems i could use containers i know coordinates for purpose

but being able to input those "artifact" which could have dedicated properties would be a must..
EN4CER
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm
Location: Texas

Additional Notes

Post by EN4CER »

I don't understand what you mean by artifact concept. As in you want to put specific objects into the quest and have the quest system recognize them? IE- "Go to this container and pick up your flux capacitor.". When I think artifacts I either think lore objects or graphical problems.
Image
User avatar
Marvin
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 13936
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:47 am
Location: Fallon-Reno

Additional Notes

Post by Marvin »

:cool: Attached is a list of contracts which can be scripted for the Expansion.

[file]737[/file]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.