Just how fast can I go? - Experiments in Engine Performance

Tips, tactics, and general discussion for Evochron Legacy.
DaveK
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by DaveK »

How do normal ship engines perform in extreme circumstances?

I received this report from DeepSpaceTwo, now safely back at DSRS Copernicus. Since he can no longer explore deep space he has turned his attention to technology performance!

"It is common knowledge that the class of an engine does not determine a ship's acceleration, only its top speed. Afterburners increase both acceleration and top speed - hence their usefulness in combat. Military engines have a higher acceleration than civilian engines.

As a scientist I was intrigued with an assumption by an experienced pilot that if you set your ship into Inertial Flight Mode and use your afterburner you will accelerate to 9999 or until you run out of fuel. It got me thinking. I was fairly sure from experience that the rate of acceleration decreased as speed increased. I had assumed therefore that there would be a maximum speed that a ship could achieve and that it would not necessarily be the 9999 limit on a ships velocity indicator. Obviously you might run out of fuel before you hit top speed.

I decided to find out what was happening.

I chose measure the performance of several different classes of civilian and military ship, choosing a top and bottom class frame from each;

• A fully stripped out Talon with a 2800 capacity fuel tank
• A lightly equipped Ferret with its maximum 400 capacity fuel tank
• A Leviathan with a 2000 capacity fuel tank
• A Chimera with a 2000 capacity fuel tank

I'll give detailed data for the Leviathan - the other three ships behaved in the same way.