Flight simulation question

Tips, tactics, and general discussion for Evochron Legacy.
BryanH
Ensign
Ensign

Post by BryanH »

Hi again team - this is just a question, not a problem, based on observation of some of the vids on the home page. I notice that in the vids when turning I see a banking turn as you would expect from real flying (I am a real pilot although strictly amateur). But I don't see that type of movement in my own flying in the game. I turn alright but it is a flat turn - know what I mean? I wondered if this was because I am using a standard mouse for control and whether a joystick is required to make it work that way - although I don't see why a mouse couldn't work that way too since the game mechanics has to simulate the action of both ailerons and rudder together with only one directional control. Maybe I have a setting wrong? I am using the defaults - as it came out of the box basically.

Oh and while I am here one other small thing - according to the keyboard quick reference guide the "/" key is reverse thrust. I tried to use it to back away from an asteroid I was bumping into (oops!) but nothing happened. Is this not a proper use for reverse thrust?

Thanks again for all the help.
ECC01
Ensign
Ensign

Post by ECC01 »

on the banking, no idea, i use joystick, and u need to bank "manually". in atmosphere u cant bank and change heading, its seems purely eyecandy, that said, if used to flight sims u adjust the controls in your own mind and compensate anyway keeping the nose level using rudder.
It's realistic enough to enjoy once you've done it a few times.

On the keyboard settings: I've noticed that it's hardcoded (using keyboard scan codes) for the US keyboard, and using British keyboard here some translation of which key is defined is sometimes in order.

Compare layout US/whatever you have and see what key is meant is all I can suggest.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_layout

[Edited on 25/8/11 by ECC01]
sundalo
Lieutenant
Lieutenant