Anyone using a gaming chair?

General discussion (space-sim gaming, astronomy, and sci-fi entertainment in general, etc.).
Ohsirus
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by Ohsirus »

I'm looking at getting the playseat flightseat link

My lil desk chair generally has me humped over trying to sim.

Wife said no to this chair :(

[Edited on 8-20-2010 by Ohsirus]
tk7223
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by tk7223 »

If you can do some minor woodworking-find your self a nice bucket seat off craigs list or ebay and build your own...They are not that hard to come by. I was able to pick up a mini-van bucket seat, almost mint condition for 35$ on ebay for my cockpit. I can sit in that all day with out being sore or stiff. :cool:
Ohsirus
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by Ohsirus »

There's the problem, I'm not good at woodworking. :(
tk7223
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by tk7223 »

Dang :( Maybe ask a friend to help??
Von Paulus
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by Von Paulus »

I don't even dare to show the chair to my wife, she would promptly say, "It's me or the chair." ;)
warsign
Captain
Captain

Post by warsign »

lol

Easy to build it with little help...

Anyone knows its price?
warsign
Captain
Captain

Post by warsign »

Yup, expensive indeed. After finding a "sport car chair", only problem is building construction... Looks like easy...

One of my friend did it. Looks very good, works very well, and coast is appox 200$... If I can reach him, I'll put a picture right here...

In addition, I know some kind of apparatus to be fitted to existing tables for placing hotas...Working very well and waaay cheaper...

[Edited on 8-20-2010 by warsign]
tk7223
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by tk7223 »

Yup...but all you need really is to do a simple "simpit" home built cockpit search on Google images to get some good ideas. Not really that hard to put an idea to paper and build with cheap materials.
warsign
Captain
Captain

Post by warsign »

Originally posted by Eclipse