Newbie tries to win a race

Tips, tactics, and general discussion for Evochron Legacy.
Malix
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by Malix »

Hi

First of all, I'm a completely newbie in this game, and it seems I fail to grasp few fundamentals..

I've done ridiculous amounts of mining to get a sizeable ship (panther frame) and engine, but the IMG contract -quest racing, or racing in general is still way beyond me.

Through trial and error I gathered I can't miss a single ring, gotcha. But now that I finally got past the opponent... is he.. SHOOTING me? WTH!?
I don't get this, is this supposed to be a race or a mauling? I came prepared with missiles to the last race and it seems I was disqualified for decimating my opponent

_what_are_the_rules_ to this? I am completely baffled here

Edit: The game is Evochron Mercenaries, forgot to clarify that in original post.

[Edited on 5-27-2011 by Malix]
Evochron Mercenaries rank: newbie
SeeJay
Captain
Captain

Post by SeeJay »

Hi and welcome Malix.

You can't shoot in races. He probably got to close. The shields touching sounds the same.

To win, simply ignore him. In the key setup page 3, set bindings for IDS + and IDS -
Then when racing, set IDS x2 and use full throttle on the straights and about 50% in the turns.
Focus on staying on track and don't use afterburner. That will do the trick.

Hopw to see you in MP.;)
\"Nothing is impossible, it only takes a bit longer!\"
\"We are not retreating, we are advancing in another direction!\"

http://evochron.junholt.se (Old)
http://www.evochron2.junholt.se (New)
http://mercenary.junholt.se (Map)
http://www.junholt.se/evoschool/index.htm (No spoilers)
-8- Bzzzzzzzzz! -8- -8-
DaveK
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by DaveK »

Hi - welcome to Evochron! :)