When should I get a better engine?

Tips, tactics, and general discussion for Evochron Legacy.
Professor Paul1290
Ensign
Ensign

Post by Professor Paul1290 »

Hi there, I'm kind of new to the game and have been playing quite a bit for the past couple weeks on the Remula One server.

I was wondering what the exact benefits of getting a better engine would be. Higher IDS speed is mentioned but that doesn't sound like that much of a benefit when you get higher speeds with IDS off.

I also see a value called "thrust" which I'm guessing is self explanatory and affects how well you accelerate, but I'm not sure how much of an impact this has. I've tried a couple different engines and haven't noticed that big of a difference.

I'm currently flying a Starmaster with a Voyage MkII engine.
49rTbird
Captain
Captain

Post by 49rTbird »

The bigger the Engine the faster and more efficient (less fuel) you travel. I trade off on Engine size if I need more build points for shields and wings. I believe the Thrust (afterburner effect) increases with the Engine size.:)
Explore! Explore! Explore! \"There is no going back (Yet) so Make Today Count!
Jack Dandy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by Jack Dandy »

I thought it was the other way around...
The bigger engine thrust capacity, the more Fuel it consumes.
49rTbird
Captain
Captain

Post by 49rTbird »

I believe you get a better return per unit of fuel considering you get better thrust.
Explore! Explore! Explore! \"There is no going back (Yet) so Make Today Count!
Dave S
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Post by Dave S »

Civian ships are definitely a balancing act between speed, agility, fuel capacity, survivability, and cargo. I recommend upping each capability equally when you first get a new frame (for noobies at least), try out how it handles on a few missions, and then begin tweeking to meet your needs (i.e. reduce fuel, but upgrade wings). That way you experience the differences and exactly how they benefit you in different circumstances.