The Sphere

Custom mods, stories, and artwork based on the Evochron / Arvoch universe.
Accountant
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

The Sphere

Post by Accountant »

Just so all of you know, the name of this mod release is the reason I am an accountant and not a marketer :D

Some of you may remember this thread that alpha45 started with the article about space battles. After I read that article, I decided to create a ship that the author described would be a probable design in the future. As you will soon see from the screenshots, the result is ungainly :D I am quite sure the reason games and video media use sleek designs is because they look so much better than a drifting ball.

I created 2 versions of my design, one with maneuvering engines and one with exhaust ports (that line up with EL's maneuvering thruster locations).

I also created a cockpit specifically for the ships, which I think looks much cooler than the ships themselves. With the cockpit being in the middle of the ship, there would be no windows to the outside. As a result, the only way to pass on visual information would be through the use of cameras and computer screens. I have modeled the cockpit to simulate being in a round enclosure with screens all around. Obviously, with this sort of visibility, it would be prudent to keep visual obstructions to a minimum. Therefore, this cockpit is the definition of minimalism, comprising only of the pilot's seat and avionics screens.

Ship Link
Cockpit Link
Cockpit 2 Link

Changelog:
V1.00: Initial Release
V1.01: Changed UV Mapping

Here are some screenshots.

Sphere version 1

Sphere version 2

Cockpit

As you can see, the ship is kinda fugly. I like the cockpit much more than the ship. Guess which mod took me longer to make :P

-Accountant

[Edited on 2-12-2010 by Accountant]
Enforcing GAAP in the outer systems since 2407.

Callsigns: [CPA]Accountant and Dark Helmet
Mods: EL Observation Cockpit | Dragonfly | Swallow | ER/EL Hud Mod | Sphere and Sphere Cockpit
49rTbird