Please help me understand the velocity gauges

Tips, tactics, and general discussion for Evochron Legacy.
CaptainTurgid
Ensign
Ensign

Please help me understand the velocity gauges

Post by CaptainTurgid »

I am new to this game and excited about getting into it. But I am pulling my hair out trying to understand the most basic instruments. So for any of you gurus who have mastered this game, please help me out here before I go prematurely bald.

When I start the tutorial, is see that the SET and FVL indicators both equal 238. That immediately raises a few questions:

1) Without touching my controls, why is it that the AVL immediately starts zooming up to around 8600? I think that the AVL is measured in relation to some sort of "galactic constant" (which I guess is really some special point in the universe that all measurements can be taken from), but what is making me accelerate in relation to that, when my FVL isn't changing? My VVL and HVL indicators also show me instantly accelerating, settling at around a value of approximately 6050. Can someone explain this apparent acceleration?

2) I also see what I understand are "motion ladders", which I think are the four continually moving ladders in my ship's window that lead to a point below and to the left of me (as verified by the "V" and ">" arrows preceding the VVL and HVL values). Those motion ladders appear to converge at a point that is identified in the 3D radar display with the light blue four brackets making a circle around it. And this is what I find especially baffling: I have IDS on and am pointed at a heading of 0 degrees as well as 0 degrees on my flight ladder, meaning I am traveling straight ahead and level. My IDS is on which means that my ship's thrusters should be trying to steer the ship in the direction I am pointed, right? Yet the motion ladders indicate that I am steadily going down and to the left. Why is that?